How I Became the Thomasville Troubadour

I was given the nickname, the Thomasville Troubadour, one night in 2007 when I was playing at one of the open mic nights at a club in Winston-Salem, NC called the Garage. As I took the stage to get to begin playing my set, my friend, Country Dan Collins, who was hosting the event, introduced me as, “the Thomasville Troubadour, BENJI MARTIN!” I have always taken that as a compliment because I live in Thomasville, and I’m a troubadour.

Dan is a fellow singer/songwriter whose style incorporates elements of country, folk, and rock music. He is also a sports journalist who works for the Winston-Salem Journal. If you would like to hear Dan’s music, visit youtube.com/sargebuffalo7, and check it out!

Leave a Reply

