RIP, TimFest

I have just found out via email from my friend Tim Webb, who play guitar and sings baritone for my favourite local band, White Light, that TimFest, which he was instrumental in organising as an outlet for local talent in the Piedmont Triad of North Carolina, had been discontinued due to the deaths and illnesses of three of the staff members who either prepared the food or cleaned up the day after the festivities. I honestly cannot say enough how heartbroken I was to learn that this essential musical outlet no longer exists, but at the same time, I was blessed and fortunate to have been involved in such an incredible experience in which I not only shared my music with an audience who was willing to listen but heard a lot of other artists like Blues Extract, Turpentine Shine, the PeaceTrain Band, and of course White Light deliver stellar performances over the past several years.

For me, playing at five of the last seven TimFests was very helpful because unlike open mic nights, I was able to play sets that went beyond just three songs. Like the old saying goes, all good things must come to an end, but TimFest will live on forever. 

Tim, if you are reading this, thank you from the bottom of my heart for providing other artists like myself an outlet to share our music through with TimFest. Those were some of the best times of my life and career as a singer/songwriter, and I will never forget them as long as I live.

Leave a Reply

