For My Fellow Male Vocalists #BaritoneCurse

What’s up, y’all? I just want to share with you this video that I’ve seen recently. It’s about something that most of us male vocalists deal with called the #baritonecurse, and I can identify with the question that was brought up in this video because I’ve been told many times that I was a baritone because my speaking voice was deep despite my ability to hit high notes in my head notes or falsetto. However, I discovered that I was a tenor after playing at my first open mic night in Greensboro in 2003 at the tender age of 29, and my former choir director clarified that I was a tenor according to the SATB choral setup when I first joined the choir at my former church the following year. Even at my open mic nights, I’ve had people compare my voice to those of the likes of Neil Young, the Bee Gees, Fall Out Boy’s Patrick Stump, and Coldplay’s Chris Martin.

For those who want to know, my voice ranges from baritone to countertenor. Therefore, my fellow male vocalists, do not let anyone dictate your vocal range or classify your voice just because of the way your speaking voice sounds. At the same time, it’s important to know your limits because there is only so much that the human voice can do that you can forget what you can or cannot do. I hope that this video provides the insight that you need. Click on the link below.

https://youtu.be/LsTw-caaTFg

Leave a Reply

