Tonight At R Lo’s #concert #openmic #ncmusic

This evening, I made my way to R Lo’s Pub & Grub in Thomasville for the Monthly Open Mic Night, and as I entered the place, I saw a sign that read, “Get well soon, Phillip,” which kind of surprised me that one of the co-hosts, Phillip Peace of his namesake group, the PeaceTrain Band, was under the weather. I do not know all of the details, but I hope and pray that he makes a full and speedy recovery.

My set, which was dedicated to Phillip, included two of my originals, Ordinary and Autobahn Of Love, and a cover of Grouplove’s hit, Welcome To Your Life (which was recently featured in a series of Volkswagen TV commercials). Now, the way that I rehearsed the songs, I was expecting to sing and play them alone, but Joe Parsons, the PeaceTrain Band’s lead axeman, persuaded me to jam with his brother, who also played guitar. I do not mind jamming with other musicians, but as a solo artist with autism, doing so in a public setting, especially with my own songs, is something that I feel really uncomfortable doing because I am used to being onstage by myself.

Also, it was great seeing Davis Tucker, who filled in for Phillip, at R Lo’s. It was my first time seeing him again in more than ten years since the open mic nights that he co-hosted the open mic nights with his son Joey (who has since passed away) at what was then the Red Eye Grill on West Fairfield Drive in High Point. For more information on Davis’s music, visit davis-tucker.com.

Remember that the Monthly Open Mic Night at R Lo’s is held on the first Sunday of every month. Come on down to 207 Fisher Ferry Street in Thomasville next month, and share your God-given musical gifts with us!

Leave a Reply

