6th November 2017

Just last Thursday, I went back to the Muddy Creek Cafe in Bethania, North Carolina for another amazing open mic night. Not only did I have an awesome time and enjoy some great music by other musicians, but when I took the stage, I sang an original song, (U) Spit Me Out, and the following two covers:

  • Never Gonna Give You Up by Rick Astley
  • Welcome To Your Life by Grouplove

My friend, Country Dan Collins, who hosts this event every week, and I had a conversation about songwriter during which he mentioned that it was OK to write a crappy song sometimes as long as continue to work on your craft, and I mentioned the Goo Goo Dolls frontman, Johnny Rzeznik, who wrote Iris for the City Of Angels soundtrack after a period of dealing with writer’s block that followed the Dolls’ success of their 1995 breakthrough hit, Name. I told Dan that Johnny said, “If it sucks, I don’t care,” as he was writing Iris. As an artist who writes music when the spirit moves me, I tend to agree that a song does not have to be perfect or a hit. It just has to come from your heart.

Remember that the open mic night at Muddy Creek happens every Wednesday evening at 6:30 PM with sign-ups starting 15 minutes earlier. Come on out one week, and show us what you’ve got!

Leave a Reply

